10 MLAs resign in TN; Vijayakanth loses Opposition leader status

Our Bureau Chennai | Updated on January 20, 2018

Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam (DMDK) founder-president Vijayakant.

Ten rebel MLAs, including eight from Vijaykanth’s Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam, have submitted their resignations to Tamil Nadu assembly speaker P Dhanapal.

Following the resignations, the strength of the opposition party DMDK in the State Assembly has reduced to 20.

A statement issued by Assembly secretary AMP Jamaludeen said that Vijayakanth has lost the status of leader of opposition, and other benefits.

Published on February 21, 2016

Follow us on Telegram, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and Linkedin. You can also download our Android App or IOS App.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor