The BJP, despite facing challenges over the farmers' protests, is all set to retain Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Manipur and Goa, according to results and trends and available after counting of more than half of the polled votes. In Punjab, the ruling Congress is facing a massive defeat as the Opposition AAP is all set to form the next government in the State.

AAP’s Chief Ministerial candidate Bhagwant Mann thanked the voters and said the swearing in of his Cabinet will take place at the village of Bhagat Singh. AAP supremo and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal said the AAP government will fulfill the dreams of Bhagat Singh and BR Ambedkar. He said the effort will be to change the system of governance.

In Uttar Pradesh, of the 403 seats, trends are available for all the seats. The BJP was leading in 263 seats. The principal Opposition party SP was leading in 136 seats. The BSP was leading in just one seat and the Congress was leading in two seats. The BJP was leading in almost all regions of the State, according to the trends.

In Punjab, of the 117 seats, trends are available for all 117 seats. The AAP was leading in 91 seats and the Congress was leading in 19 seats. The SAD-BSP alliance was leading in four seats while the BJP-led alliance was leading in two seats. State Chief Minister Charanjit Singh Channi lost in both the seats he contested. PCC president Navjot Singh Sidhu, SAD leaders Parkash Singh Badal and Sukhbir Singh Badal were also trailing in their seats.

In Uttarakhand, of the 70 seats, trends are out for 70 seats. The BJP was leading in 48 seats and the Congress was leading in 17 seats. Other parties were leading in five seats.

In Goa, trends of all 40 seats in the 40-member Assembly are available. The BJP was leading in 19 seats and the Congress was leading in 12 seats. The new player in the State, the Trinamool Congress, was leading in three seats. AAP was leading in two seats and others were leading in four seats, in a clear indication of a hunge Assembly. The BJP has claimed the support of three independents who were leading.

In Manipur, in the 60 seats, trends of all 60 seats were available and the BJP was leading in 31 seats and the Congress was leading in six seats. Other parties, including the NPP, were leading in 23 seats.

Ensuring smooth counting

The Election Commission said altogether, 671 counting observers, 130 police observers, and 10 Special Observers will be on ground to ensure the smooth counting process. "Commission has also deputed two special officers- Chief Electoral Officer Delhi to Meerut and Chief Electoral Officer Bihar to Varanasi to supervise the counting arrangements," the panel added in a statement.