Sonia, Manmohan, Union Ministers in NDMC defaulters list

PTI New Delhi | Updated on January 24, 2018 Published on March 18, 2015

A file image of Congress President Sonia Gandhi and former Prime Ministers Manmohan Singh

Union Minister Smriti Irani

Congress President Sonia Gandhi, former Prime Ministers Manmohan Singh and H D Devegowda, Union Ministers Smriti Irani, Najma Heptullah, and Ram Vilas Paswan are among over 300 MPS who are on the utility bill defaulters list of the New Delhi Municipal Council.

Others who figure in the list of electricity and water bill defaulters, which has been made public by NDMC, are former Union Minister Jainarain Prasad Nishad, L.K Advani, Digvijay Singh and Jagdish Tytler.

In the list of dues pending upto December 2014 billing cycle, 166 MPs from Lok Sabha and 151 MPs of Rajya Sabha have figured.

Nishad, Devegowda, and Telangana CM K Chandrashekhra Rao top the list with their outstanding bills running into lakhs.

While Nishad owes the NDMC ₹18.47 lakh, Devegowda and Rao owe ₹1.49 lakh and ₹1.27 lakh respectively.

While former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh owes ₹22,934, the dues of Gandhi and Jairam Ramesh are as low as ₹193.68 and ₹206.

Digvijay Singh is yet to pay ₹25,484, Jagdambika Pal – ₹30,953, Paswan – ₹49,464, Shashi Tharoor – ₹7,374 and Advani – ₹3,311.

Union Ministers Irani and Heptullah have dues of ₹12,934 and ₹1,627 pending against them.

Amar Singh, Moti Lal Vora, Rajpal Singh Saini, Palvai Govardhan Reddy and Birender Singh owe ₹1.47 lakh, ₹1.31 lakh, ₹76,934 and ₹68,134 to the civic body respectively.

“NDMC has written to CPWD and Housing Committees to clear the dues of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha MPs. The utility bills of any person holding a constitutional post is paid by CPWD while the electricity and water bills for MPS’ residences are deducted from their salaries,” a senior NDMC official said.

“We have sent notices earlier too reminding of the dues,” he added.

The official, however, did not comment on whether the civic body is mulling any action like discontinuing the power or water supply against the defaulters if the dues are not paid.

The civic body has also released a separate list of 859 former Lok Sabha MPs who are yet to clear their dues.

Topping the list is Congress leader Tytler with dues of ₹16.97 lakh pending followed by BG Jalwali, Shiv Pratap Mishra and Hazi Ghulam Mohammad Khan with unpaid bills of ₹7.67 lakh, ₹6.27 lakh and ₹5.40 lakh respectively.

NDMC areas are home to the high and mighty of the city.

While it has bungalows of Union Ministers and parliamentarians, many top industrialists also stay in the area. Parliament House, buildings of all the ministries, Supreme Court, high court and residences of Supreme Court judges, senior bureaucrats, and senior military officers are in NDMC areas.

Published on March 18, 2015
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor