England eves shoot out Australia for 147

Comment   ·   print   ·  
Players of England Women Cricket Team during a match. (File Photo)
Vivek Bendre Players of England Women Cricket Team during a match. (File Photo)

Defending champions England produced an impressive bowling performance to bundle out Australia for a paltry 147 runs in their first Super Six match of the ICC Women’s World Cup at the Brabourne Stadium here today.

Sent into bat, Australia witnessed a batting collapse from the start and lost half of their side at the score of 32 before being bowled out in 44.4 overs.

An 82-run sixth wicket partnership between Lisa Sthalekar (41) and Sarah Coyte (44) was the highlight of Australia’s innings as it helped them to post a three digit score on the board.

The English pace attack exploited the conditions well after opting to field with Anya Shrubsole returning with best figures of three for 24 from her 10 overs.

Shrubsole was well supported by Katherine Brunt (2/22), Arran Brindle (2/33) and Holly Colvin (2/19) who shared six wickets between them.

Five-time champions Australia’s misery can be gauged from the fact they lost their top four batswomen, including last match centurion Meghann Lanning, opener Rachael Haynes, Jessica Cameron and Alexandra Blacwell for a paltry score 27 runs.

Lanning was the lone Aussie to reach a double digit score among the top four batters, scoring 17 off 24 balls with the help of three fours.

(This article was published on February 8, 2013)
XThese are links to The Hindu Business Line suggested by Outbrain, which may or may not be relevant to the other content on this page. You can read Outbrain's privacy and cookie policy here.


This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Live! IPL 2015 auction

  • O


    Recent Article in Sports

    Visa's tough stance on FIFA augurs more sponsor demands, say experts

    Visa Inc's public warning to FIFA that it may end its sponsorship if world soccer's governing body does not quickly clean up its act wil... »

    Comments to: Copyright © 2015, The Hindu Business Line.