3 new lighthouses to come up in Orissa coast

PTI Berhampur (Orissa) | Updated on March 12, 2018 Published on March 04, 2011

At least three new lighthouses will be constructed in the Orissa coast, taking the total number in the state to eight.

The new lighthouses are proposed at Prayagi in Ganjam district, Debi Point in Kendrapada district and Mayipur in Bhadrak district.

While the lighthouse at Prayagi is under construction, Kendrapara and Bhadrak projects would be taken up after getting environment clearance. This was stated by Deputy Director-General, Directorate of Lighthouses and Lightships under the Ministry of Shipping, Surface Transport, Mr J.S. Chauhan at Gopalpur today.

Five lighthouses at present operate at Gopalpur, Chandrabhaga, Puri, Paradip and False Point. The construction of the lighthouse at Prayagi was under full swing and scheduled to be opened in December, he said. Around Rs 1.20 crore would be spent for the construction of about 30 meter high tower at Prayagi, 45 km from here.

Although the Government has sanctioned for construction of the other two proposed lighthouses at Mayipur and Debi Pont, they were yet to get the environment clearance, he said.

Published on March 04, 2011

A letter from the Editor

Dear Readers,

The coronavirus crisis has changed the world completely in the last few months. All of us have been locked into our homes, economic activity has come to a near standstill. Everyone has been impacted.

Including your favourite business and financial newspaper. Our printing and distribution chains have been severely disrupted across the country, leaving readers without access to newspapers. Newspaper delivery agents have also been unable to service their customers because of multiple restrictions.

In these difficult times, we, at BusinessLine have been working continuously every day so that you are informed about all the developments – whether on the pandemic, on policy responses, or the impact on the world of business and finance. Our team has been working round the clock to keep track of developments so that you – the reader – gets accurate information and actionable insights so that you can protect your jobs, businesses, finances and investments.

We are trying our best to ensure the newspaper reaches your hands every day. We have also ensured that even if your paper is not delivered, you can access BusinessLine in the e-paper format – just as it appears in print. Our website and apps too, are updated every minute, so that you can access the information you want anywhere, anytime.

But all this comes at a heavy cost. As you are aware, the lockdowns have wiped out almost all our entire revenue stream. Sustaining our quality journalism has become extremely challenging. That we have managed so far is thanks to your support. I thank all our subscribers – print and digital – for your support.

I appeal to all or readers to help us navigate these challenging times and help sustain one of the truly independent and credible voices in the world of Indian journalism. Doing so is easy. You can help us enormously simply by subscribing to our digital or e-paper editions. We offer several affordable subscription plans for our website, which includes Portfolio, our investment advisory section that offers rich investment advice from our highly qualified, in-house Research Bureau, the only such team in the Indian newspaper industry.

A little help from you can make a huge difference to the cause of quality journalism!

Support Quality Journalism
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor
You have read 1 out of 3 free articles for this week. For full access, please subscribe and get unlimited access to all sections.