16% polling till 9 am in by-poll to Malappuram Lok Sabha constituency

PTI Malappuram (Kerala) | Updated on January 15, 2018 Published on April 12, 2017

Around 16 per cent votes were cast till 9 am today in the byelection to the Malappuram Lok Sabha constituency in Kerala, officials said.

No untoward incident has been reported so far while there were instances of malfunctioning of some electronic voting machines (EVMs) which were rectified, they said.

Sixteen per cent of the more than 13 lakh voters exercised their franchise till 9 am in the bypoll necessitated by the demise of former Union Minister and IUML leader E Ahamed.

Congress-led UDF candidate P. K. Kunhalikutty of the Indian Union Muslim League, the CPI-M’s M B Faisal of the ruling LDF and BJP nominee N. Sreeprakash are the main contestants in the fray.

Six independents are also trying their luck.

More than 1,100 polling stations have been set up in the constituency, which has a total electorate of 13,12,693.

The high voltage campaign saw heated debates on beef versus development.

The UDF is making all-out efforts to retain its stronghold, while the ruling LDF is hoping for an upset win.

Seeking to put the UDF camp on the backfoot, the LDF claimed some senior Congress MPs from Kerala were likely to crossover to the BJP bandwagon.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Ahamed had won the seat by a margin of 1,94,739 votes against CPI(M)’s P. K. Sainaba.

Published on April 12, 2017
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor