The Ministry of Coal has issued de-allocation letters for eight coal blocks following a decision of the Inter-Ministerial Group.

“The Government has issued letters for at least eight coal blocks given to a single company or jointly,” Ministry sources told PTI.

Among the companies affected by the de-allocation are Grasim Industries, Gujarat Ambuja Cement, Lafarge, Electrotherm and Kesoram Industries.

Coal Minister Sriprakash Jaiswal has said the process to de-allocate 13 blocks was underway.