3 indirect tax ombudsmen appointed

| Updated on: Apr 26, 2012

The Government has appointed three indirect tax ombudsmen. These ombudsmen will hear grievances on excise duty, custom duty and service tax issues from the general public and direct the concerned commissioners to address them.

According to a senior Government official, the Cabinet Committee on Appointment (ACC) has cleared the name of Mr S. Dutt Majumdar for Delhi, Mr Rajendra Prakash for Lucknow and Ms Lalita John for Bangalore as Indirect Tax Ombudsmen.

“These people have been appointed initially for two years which can be extended for one more year,” the official said.

The plan was to appoint seven ombudsmen all over the country. With these appointments, four posts will remain vacant. The Government is expected to announce fresh selection process for these four posts.

Although a panel headed by the Finance and Revenue Secretary Mr. R S Gujral had recommended four names, one name was rejected.

Published on November 15, 2017

Follow us on Telegram, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and Linkedin. You can also download our Android App or IOS App.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

You May Also Like

Recommended for you