It isn’t just business issues that B-school graduates have to contend with, but also issues such as global warming, climate change and water crisis, said MM Murugappan, Executive Chairman, Murugappa Group, while addressing students at the seventh annual convocation of the Indian Institute of Management Tiruchirapalli, on Saturday.

While these are acute problems, it presents innovative opportunities for B-school students. “You step into a world of enormous needs and opportunities. The challenge before you is to navigate the world. Don’t take your career as just a job, but seek out path-breaking opportunities,” said Murugappan, who was the chief guest at the convocation.

He outlined three mantras for success: Never underestimate anyone, learn from everyone — from shop floor workers to those in the boardroom, and build long-lasting relationships with fairness, trust and empathy. He told the students that five lights should guide them in their career: The light of integrity, passion, quality, respect and responsibility. He advised the students to have a vision for themselves and insisted that the only security in life is their ability. He said IIM Tiruchirapalli has played a role in building a part of it. The students were awarded MBA degrees, instead of diplomas, under the IIM Act. The Director of the IIM, Bhimaraya Metri, in his report, highlighted the institute’s achievement during the academic year 2018-2019. He said this year has seen a tremendous increase in students’ achievements, research publications from faculty and increase in executive education programmes. The summer internship and final placement also saw a substantial increase in both the average package offered and the number of companies that visited the campus this year.

The IIM saw 100 per cent placement and the average salary package went up to ₹14.91 lakh.

Jalaj Dani, Chairman, Board of Governors, IIM Tiruchirapalli, in his address appreciated the government’s move to provide autonomy to the institute and said this would promote innovation in pedagogy.

Prize winners

The Chairperson’s gold medal for securing first rank in PGPM went to Deepesh Agarwal.

The Director’s gold medal for the second rank went to Jagtap Sachin Suresh and the Canara Bank gold medal for the third place went to Cherukupalli Sravani.

The Leela Chandrasekhara Menon Award for the outstanding lady student of the year in PGPM was bagged by Nandhini N while the Kotak Securities gold medal for the best allround performance in PGPM went to Arun A.

The Chairperson’s gold medal for the first rank in the PG programme in business management for working executives went to Jeyesh Jeykhar J S.