Mix of young and old in Rahul’s new CWC list

Our Bureau New Delhi | Updated on July 17, 2018 Published on July 17, 2018

Congress leaders Mallikarjun Kharge (left) and Ghulam Nabi Azad are prominent inclusions of the CWC   -  PTI

Party President Rahul Gandhi on Tuesday reorganised the Congress Working Committee (CWC), almost four months after the plenary session of the All India Congress Committee (AICC).

As expected, the top panel of the party includes a combination of young and old faces. The list has also met various regional and social considerations.

The CWC will have 23 members, 18 permanent invitees and 10 special invitees, a release issued by general secretary in charge of the organisation Ashok Gehlot said.

Apart from Rahul, UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi, former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and party treasurer Motilal Vora, Opposition leader in Rajya Sabha Ghulam Nabi Azad and Congress leader in Lok Sabha Mallikarjun Kharge are prominent members on the panel.

Senior leaders Ahmed Patel, AK Antony, Oommen Chandy, Siddaramaiah, Anand Sharma, Tarun Gogoi, Harish Rawat, Kumari Selja and Mukul Wasnik have also found a place in the list.

Leader from Maharashtra Avinash pande, Lok Sabha members KC Venugopal, Tamradhwaj Sahu, former MP Raghuveer Meena, Manipur leader Gaikhangam Gangmei and Dipak Babaria from Gujarat are other members in the CWC.

Permanent invitees

P Chidambaram, Sheila Dikshit, Jyotiraditya Scindia, PC Chacko, RPN Singh, Gaurav Gogoi and other AICC independent in-charges are permanent invitees on the panel.

KH Miniyappa, Arun yadav, Deepender Hooda and Jitin Prasada are special invitees. The panel is likely to hold its first meeting on Sunday.

Follow us on Telegram, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and Linkedin. You can also download our Android App or IOS App.

Published on July 17, 2018
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor