Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar awards for 10 scientists

Our Bureau New Delhi | Updated on September 26, 2014

The Government on Friday announced the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Awards-2014 for 10 scientists in recognition of their work.

The scientists who will get a cash prize of ₹ 5 lakh, a citation and a plaque are Roop Malik (biological sciences) of Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR), Mumbai, Kavirayani Ramakrishna Prasad (chemical sciences), Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore, Souvik Maiti of Institute of Genomics and Integrative Biology, New Delhi, Sachchida Nand Tripathi, (earth, atmosphere, ocean and planetary sciences) IIT-Kanpur, S Venkata Mohan (engineering sciences), Indian Institute of Chemical Technology, Hyderabad, Soumen Chakrabarti, IIT-Mumbai, Kaushal Kumar Verma (mathematical sciences), IISc, Bangalore, Anurag Agrawal (medical sciences), Institute of Genomics and Integrative Biology, Delhi, Pratap Raychaudhuri (physical sciences) TIFR, Mumbai, and Sadiqali Abbas Rangwala of Raman Research Institute, Bangalore.

The annual awards, named after the founder of Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), were announced on the occasion of the foundation day ceremony of the council.

The 2103 awards for scientific and technological innovation for rural development was conferred upon CSIR-Centre for Cellular & Molecular Biology, Hyderabad and Directorate of Rice Research, ICAR, Hyderabad, for development and deployment of an improved Samba Mahsuri rice variety, a bacterial blight-resistant, high-yielding fine grain variety, an official release said.

CSIR’s Diamond Jubilee Technology Award 2014 was given to Avra Laboratories Pvt. Limited, Hyderabad for development and commercialisation of “Irinotecan – a unique drug for colorectal cancer”.

Published on September 26, 2014

Follow us on Telegram, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and Linkedin. You can also download our Android App or IOS App.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

You May Also Like