High-power panel moots modern IT infrastructure for Kerala

Our Bureau Thiruvananthapuram | Updated on January 15, 2018 Published on April 12, 2017

CM chairs first meet of panel

A high-power IT committee has suggested that Kerala set up a modern IT architecture that will enable a digital lifestyle for its citizens and plug in all major stakeholders into it.

Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan chaired the first meeting of the committee with the objective of delineating the growth of IT in the state and developing the IT digital infrastructure.

The state government constituted the committee headed by SD Shibulal, co-founder and former CEO of Infosys, as chairman with 10 industry stalwarts as members in March 2017 .

At its first meeting here, the IT leaders welcomed the state government’s vision for the industry and promised total support to it.

Hrishikesh Nair, CEO, IT Parks-Kerala, appraised the members of the feedback from companies on the draft IT policy based on the meetings held at the three IT hubs (Technopark, Infopark, Cyberpark).

Draft IT policy

The committee felt that the policy was very comprehensive and appreciated the provision for updating sub policies each year. The committee recommended setting up a team of senior officials to drive corporate engagements that will help promote investments in the state.

The team will provide seamless support for clients across various government departments and will be under the direct supervision of Chief Minister’s Office. A final report detailing its action plan will be presented in the next meeting.

The committee recommended that the government host an IT summit with the aim to bring together senior professionals across the globe with linkages to the state.

Brand Kerala IT

The event should be utilised to showcase the opportunities that the state has to offer in the IT and knowledge sectors and also to enhance brand ‘Kerala IT.’

The committee will have monthly conference calls with the IT Secretary and CEO, IT Parks, to review the progress and has decided to convene the next meeting in July.

Its members include M Sivasankar, Secretary, IT; Kris Gopalakrishnan, former CEO, Infosys; VK Mathews, Executive Chairman, IBS Group; Ajit Balakrishnan, founder CEO,; Duleep Sahadevan, Software Associates; Anthony Thomas, CIO, GE India; Dinesh Thampi, Vice President, TCS; Ashok Pammidi, Regional Director, Nasscom; Saji Gopinath, Faculty, IIM Kozhikode; Rajesh Nair, Director, E&Y; and Hrishikesh R Nair, CEO, IT Parks-Kerala.

Follow us on Telegram, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and Linkedin. You can also download our Android App or IOS App.

Published on April 12, 2017
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor