Karnataka selects 18 institutions for Biotech Finishing School

Anil Urs Bengaluru | Updated on February 02, 2018

After the success of the Biotechnology Finishing School (BTFS) programme, the Karnataka government is now planning to expand the programme to include 18 more institutions. The BTFS programme has now been revamped as the Biotechnology Skill Enhancement Programme (BiSEP), and is presented in collaboration with the Life Science Sector Skill Development Council (LSSSDC) and the Indian Institute of Chemical Technology (CSIR-IICT).

The BiSEP programme is expected to feature an enhanced and enriched course curriculum that is aligned with the National Vocational Educational Quality Framework (NVEQF). The curriculum will be tailored to incorporate the latest industry trends and technological advances.

Announcing the revamped BiSEP programme, Priyank Kharge, Karnataka Minister for IT, BT, S&T, said, “Karnataka has always taken the lead in promoting new fields of study. Our state is known for its prowess in science, technology, and research. It is, therefore, no surprise that we are also leaders in biotechnology. The new Biotechnology Skill Enhancement Programme will create future leaders and innovators in the field, and generate thousands of jobs for our youth.”

In the first round, 12 major institutions were selected and they reaped rich rewards in terms of training young, eager students, providing them fulfilling internship and employment opportunities, and growing the budding biotech sector in the state. Institutions identified to host the new BiSEP programme are spread across eight districts in Karnataka.

The 18 institutions selected are: B.V. Bhoomaraddi College of Engineering and Technology, Hubballi; Basaveshwar Engineering College, Bagalkot; Dayanand Sagar College of Engineering, Bengaluru; IABT, University of Agricultural Sciences, Dharwad; JSS College of Arts, Commerce and Science, Mysuru; M S Ramaiah Institute of Technology, Bengaluru; Maharani Lakshmi Ammanni College for Women, Bengaluru; Mount Carmel College, Bengaluru; Padmashree Institute of Management Science, Bengaluru; PES University, Bengaluru; School of Life Sciences, MAHE (Deemed-to be University), Udupi; SDM College of Medical Sciences and Hospital, Dharwad; Shri Dharmasthala Manjunatheshwara College, Ujire; Siddaganga Institute of Technology, Tumkuru; St. Aloysius College, Mangaluru; the Oxford College of Science, Bengaluru, University of Gulbarga, Kalaburagi; and Yenepoya (Deemed to be University), Mangaluru.

Published on February 02, 2018

Follow us on Telegram, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and Linkedin. You can also download our Android App or IOS App.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

You May Also Like