Telangana constitutes a task force to study monorail, other modes for IT corridors

V Rishi Kumar Hyderabad | Updated on February 19, 2018 Published on February 19, 2018

The Telangana Government has constituted a task force on urban mobility to study the feasibility of monorail model and other modes of transport for the IT corridor of the city.

Arvind Kumar, Principal Secretary Municipal Administration, has issued orders after KT Rama Rao, Municipal Administration Minister observed the need for such a requirement in a growing metropolis.

The committee/task force would suggest the corridors for Phase II and phase III of metro rail project, suggest best and most economical ways of transport including monorail, tram, e-vehicles and any other such rail or road connectivity on various routes in a synergistic manner.

The committee would also suggest option for various methods of funding such projects and raising resources including PPPs, Joint ventures and annuity funding. The committee would submit its recommendations to government.

It was felt there is a need to integrate and synergise various modes of transportation such as metro rail, buses, monorail, MMTS, tram, e-vehicles and other such modes of transport keeping in view the present traffic density and the emerging traffic requirement for the next five decades.

Rao felt the outer ring road, national highways, state highways and satellite towns as well as the urban local bodies in a radius of 100 km from Hyderabad also need to be kept in view while integrating and synergising various modes of transportation.

As per the directions of the Minister the Government constituted a task force comprising of government and members from the corporate sector to study the monorail model.

While the Principal Secretary MA&UD will be the member convenor of the committee, it will have the advisor to Government G Vivek, Principal Secretary Industries & Commerce, Managing Director HMRL as members.

The committee will also have the MD of Salarpuria Group, Chairman Phoenix group, Chairman Meenakshi group, Chairman RMZ corporation, CEO and MD LTMRHL and CEO &MD Greenko Energies as members.

Published on February 19, 2018
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor