YSR Congress to move no-trust vote against Modi govt

Our Bureau | | Updated on: Dec 06, 2021

Attempts to rally entire Opposition on SCS issue; TDP vows support

The YSR Congress on Thursday submitted a notice for no-confidence against the Narendra Modi government, the first such measure initiated against the incumbent. The Andhra Pradesh-based party has reached out to the entire Opposition, and also sought the support of its arch-rival, the TDP, an ally of Modi’s BJP.

The TDP has backed the YSR Congress’ no-confidence motion. It had pulled out its two ministers from the Modi government earlier this month.

Speaking to BusinessLine , YSR Congress MP YV Subba Reddy said his party had submitted the notice for no-trust motion in the Lok Sabha with a view to get it admitted in the House on Friday.

“I know we have only five MPs in the Lok Sabha. But we have reached out to the entire Opposition to support us on this. We have approached even the Telugu Desam Party (TDP), which is part of the ruling NDA, to support our motion,” Subba Reddy said.

The Ongole MP said his party had been hoping for the grant of special category status (SCS) for Andhra Pradesh, but now that the government had forced the passage of its last Finance Bill, it had no alternative. “The people of Andhra Pradesh have lost faith in this government. We have, therefore, sought support from everyone to vote them out,” said the YSR Congress leader.

To whip up support for their motion, the YSRC has approached the Congress, CPI(M), Biju Janata Dal (BJD), Trinamool Congress, AIADMK, the Samajwadi Party and the Telangana Rashtriya Congress (TRS). Subba Reddy, carrying a letter from YSRC chief Jaganmohan Reddy, met with leaders of the respective parties including Mallikarjun Kharge, Sitaram Yechury, Bharutahari Mehtab, Saugata Roy, M Thambidurai, Mulayam Singh Yadav and others.

A minimum of 50 MPs need to support a no-confidence motion for it to be admitted in the Lok Sabha. As the ruling coalition enjoys a majority in the House, with the BJP alone having 272 MPs, it is not possible for the Opposition to succeed and vote out the government. But the YSR Congress clearly wants to be seen as standing up to a government that has denied Andhra Pradesh the SCS.

TDP’s predicament

In the present situation, the Centre’s perceived neglect and betrayal of the people of Andhra Pradesh is a political baggage that the TDP is fighting hard to shed. Its MPs have staged relentless protests against the Centre and disrupted proceedings in Parliament for the ninth straight day. The government, on its part, managed to get two Bills passed without debate.

While Speaker Sumitra Mahajan first adjourned the Lok Sabha till noon and then for the day, the Rajya Sabha, which saw a total of three adjournments, could not take up the Finance Bill and the Appropriation Bills, due to the disruptions. The proceedings of the two Houses were paralysed as opposition parties stormed the Well and continued their noisy protests over a host of issues, including the banking scam, special status for AP and the setting up of Cauvery management board.

In the Lok Sabha however, the government pushed two legislations, Payment of Gratuity (Amendment) Bill and Specific Relief (Amendment) Bill, amid continued din and the House passed them with a voice vote without debate.

Since March 5 when the budget session resumed after recess, the two Houses have seen disruptions on a daily basis.

Published on March 15, 2018
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

You May Also Like

Recommended for you