Over 40 per cent of 81 lakh electorate cast their votes in five Lok Sabha constituencies where polling is underway for the second and last phase in Rajasthan.

In a minor altercation, an ITBP personnel shoved away few villagers who had gathered near a polling station at Mahua town in Dausa district, IG Jaipur Range D C Jain said.

The villagers pelted stones at the ITBP when they asked them to vacate the booth area, he said, adding that the polling was unaffected and additional policemen have been rushed to the spot to maintain law and order.

Forty-five thousands security personnel were on duty in the most sensitive areas, DGP- Law and Order Navdeep Singh said.

The five LS seats where polling is underway are: Dausa, Alwar, Karauli-Dholpur, Tonk- Sawaimadhopur, and Bharatpur.

At 1.15 p.m., Dausa recorded a voter turnout of 40.86 per cent, followed by Alwar 43 per cent, Bharatpur 39 per cent, Karauli-Dholpur 36 per cent and Tonk Sawaimadhopur 40.86 per cent.

Eighty one contestants, including two union ministers Namonarayan Meena (MoS for Finance) from Dausa, Jitendra Singh (MoS for Sports) from Alwar, and former cricketer Mohammed Azaharruddin from Tonk-Swaimadhopur are in the fray.

There are 9,112 polling booths, of which 2,674 are declared as critical. These booths are being guarded by 45,000 security personnel to ensure the free and fair poll, an election official said.

Polling in 20 out of 25 seats was held on April 17.