On Campus

IIM Calcutta to hold students’ cricket league

Our Bureau New Delhi | Updated on February 16, 2014


Cricket fever is rising at IIM Calcutta with the launch of the 5th IIM Calcutta Premier League (ICPL).

Inspired from the IPL, ICPL is the student run cricket league. The tournament was kick-started by the auction of teams in two stages with bid amounts doubled compared to last year’s.

Ten teams were formed with over ₹4 lakh in the fray. These include Bangalore Juggernauts, Chennai Superstars, Delhi Dabanggs, Great Goan Pirates, Hyderabad Vikings, Jaipur Jaguars, Kolkata Knights, Lucknow Nawabs, Mumbai Master Blasters and Sher-e-Punjab.

The teams represent a set of standard major cities across the country with a couple of new representations. Goa and Bangalore are the newbies this time while the other eight have been present since the league’s inception.

Published on February 16, 2014

Follow us on Telegram, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and Linkedin. You can also download our Android App or IOS App.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor