The Andhra Pradesh Re-organisation Bill 2013 was introduced in the Assembly on Monday amid protests by Seemandhra legislators belonging to various parties.

Speaker Nadendla Manohar had to adjourn the House twice during the day as protesting legislators rushed to the well of the House, holding placards and shouting slogans against bifurcation. Later, Telugu Desam legislators stormed the Speaker’s Chambers.

When the House met in the afternoon, legislators rooting for an integrated State continued their protest even as D, Sreedhar Babu, Minister for Legislative Affairs and Civil Supplies, began his speech on the Bill. Tension prevailed in the Assembly as YSR Congress Party and TDP legislators tore up copies of the draft Bill at the Media Point, triggering protests by Telangana MLAs. Similar scenes were witnessed at the Legislative Council when Chairman A. Chakrapani introduced the Bill in the Upper House. Chief Minister N. Kiran Kumar Reddy, a votary of a united Andhra Pradesh, did not turn up, citing health reasons.

Deputy Speaker Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka could not continue the proceedings with integrationist MLAs raising slogans in favour of a united state, even as Sreedhar Babu completed his speech. He adjourned the session till Tuesday.

TRS leaders Harish Rao and E. Rajendar later claimed that the Chair had asked TDP President Chandrababu Naidu to initiate discussion on the Bill. “He didn’t respond,” they said. Meanwhile, the Committee is expected to meet tomorrow to discuss and decide the modalities of taking up discussion on the draft Bill.