Mamata wins first bypoll election

Our Bureau Kolkata | Updated on March 12, 2018 Published on September 28, 2011

The Trinamool Congress Chief, Ms Mamata Banerjee, on Wednesday won her first election as an MLA by contesting from the Bhabanipur seat in South Kolkata. She defeated CPI(M)'s Ms Nandini Mukherjee by a margin of over 54,000 votes.

Bypolls to the Bhabanipur seat took place following the resignation of Mr Subrata Bakshi. Mr Bakshi – currently the State's PWD and Transport Minister – had resigned to make way for Ms Banerjee to contest.

Ms Banerjee, the incumbent Chief Minister of West Bengal, had skipped contesting in the Assembly elections scheduled in April-May this year, on grounds that she needed to campaign for her party. She had given up her portfolio as Railways Minister, to become the Chief Minister and had to contest the polls within the stipulated six months after assuming office.

According to the reports available on the Web site of the Chief Electoral Officer of West Bengal, Ms Banerjee secured 77.45 per cent or 73,635 of the total votes (95,064). Her nearest competitor secured 19,422 votes.

“It is a victory of the people who have reposed their faith in us. We are committed to work for the people of Bengal,” Ms Banerjee told reporters at Writers' Buildings.

Basirhat victory

Meanwhile, the Trinamul Congress candidate, Mr A.T.M. Abdullah, also won the Basirhat North assembly seat in North 24 Parganas by defeating the Left Front's Mr Subid Ali Gazi.

The Basirhat North seat had fallen vacant following the death of the then MLA, Mustafa Bin Qasem of the Left Front. Bypolls to Basirhat North was held simultaneously with the Bhabanipur seat on September 25.

With today's victory in Basirhat, the Trinamool Congress' strength went up to 185 in the 294-member West Bengal Assembly, while that of the Left Front - Opposition - came down to 63.

Published on September 28, 2011
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor