Motion of thanks to President’s address passed in both houses

Our Bureau New Delhi | Updated on March 20, 2012 Published on March 20, 2012

The motion of thanks to the President’s speech was passed in both the Houses of Parliament here on Tuesday. In the Rajya Sabha, the Government ensured support from the SP and BSP to pass the resolution thanking the President.

The Government’s ally, the All India Trinamool Congress (AITC), walked out of the Rajya Sabha without voting in favour of the Government. The party, which had moved amendments against the proposal to set up a National Counter Terrorism Centre (NCTC), had abstained from voting in the Lok Sabha as well.

Replying to the debate, the Prime Minister, Dr Manmohan Singh, said the Government would consult all the States and Chief Ministers before setting up NCTC.

After his reply, when the Opposition demanded a vote, the Government managed to ensure the support of SP and BSP. BSP, which had walked out from the Lok Sabha, supported the Government in the Rajya Sabha.

Amendments moved by the BJP and the Left to the President’s address against NCTC were defeated in the Upper House.


[email protected]

Published on March 20, 2012
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor