State Govt to felicitate Bengali actors

Our Bureau Kolkata | Updated on July 18, 2012 Published on July 18, 2012

The West Bengal Chief Minister, Ms Mamata Banerjee, on Wednesday said the State Government would felicitate leading stars from the Bengali film industry.

The awards would be given away at the death anniversary of late, Uttam Kumar.

Mahanayak Uttam Kumar awards

According to Ms Banerjee, the awards would be called as Mahanayak Uttam Kumar awards .

“Around 43 people have been shortlisted for the awards this year,” she told media persons at Writers Buildings here.

This year’s Dada Saheb Phalke award winner, Soumitra Chatterjee, would be felicitated with the Life Time Achievement Award, while national award winning actor, Mithun Chakraborty, will be given the “Mahanayak Samman for 2012.”

Some of the other winners include actor-turned Trinamool MPs and MLAs like Shatabdi Roy, Tapas Pal, Chiranjeet and Debashree Roy. Other leading actors who will be felicitated include Dipankar Dey, Santu Mukherjee, Madhabhi Mukherjee and Sandhya Roy.

Published on July 18, 2012
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor