The final summary of the electoral roll published by the office of Karnataka’s Chief Election Commissioner reveals a total voter base of 4.96 crore.

Average voters in the Assembly constituencies are 2.21 lakh voters as compared with 1.83 lakh in 2013, Sanjiv Kumar, Chief Electoral Officer (CEO), told reporters.

The revision has seen anaddition of 7.72 lakh young voters and among them 15.42 lakh are first-time voters. There are also 5,552 voters belonging to third gender with the highest enrolled in BBMP limits with 1,384 voters.

Women voters are up 13 per cent. A total of 2.44 crore women voters are in the final list ahead of the 2018 Assembly elections while there were a total of 2.13 crore women voters during the 2013 elections. During the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the number of women voters were 2.26 crore.

Interestingly, Raichur, Udupi, Ramanagara, Dakshin Kannada and Kodagu districts have more women voters than men. In Raichur district, there are 7.94 lakh women voters as against 7.77 lakh men voters while in Udupi, there are 5.07 lakh women voters as against 4.70 lakh men voters.

Similarly, in Ramanagara , women voters with 4.34 lakh outnumber men (4.30 lakh) while in Dakshin Kannada, women voters number 8.46 lakh against 8.20 lakh men voters. A small margin of 865 women votes puts the number of women voters on the top in Kodagu district where both number about 2.12 lakh.

Before the final electoral list was published, nearly 30 lakh applications were received for inclusion, deletion and changes of which 27.46 lakh applications were accepted. While 17.12 lakh applications were received for inclusion, 15.56 lakh were accepted.

For deletion, 9.17 lakh applications were accepted from the total 9.95 lakh received. Of the 2.87 lakh applications received for changes, 2.73 lakh applications have been accepted.