The Union Ministry of Tourism has sanctioned five projects under the Buddhist Circuit for ₹361.97 crore, said the Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Tourism KJ Alphons in a written reply in the Lok Sabha on Monday.

Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Gujarat and Andhra Pradesh are the fives States where the project under Buddhist Circuit has been sanctioned. The Ministry has identified the Buddhist Circuit as one of the 15 thematic circuits for development under the Swadesh Darshan Scheme.

Meanwhile, 11 MoUs have been signed with the Monument Mitras for operation and maintenance and development/upgradation of tourist amenities in the non-core areas of the monument. This information was also given by the Tourism Minister in a written reply in the Lok Sabha.