Congress to vote against Edappadi Palaniswami govt

PTI Chennai | Updated on January 13, 2018 Published on February 18, 2017

TNCC President Su Thirunavukkarasar (file pic)

File photo of TNCC President Su Thirunavukkarasar (left) with Congress leaders Ghulam Nabi Azad (centre) and P. Chidambaram.

Opposition Congress today said it would vote against the Edappadi K Palaniswami government in the motion of confidence in the Tamil Nadu Assembly.

“We have decided to vote against the Edappadi K Palaniswami government in the Assembly”, TNCC President Su Thirunavukkarasar told presspersons at the party headquarters here.

The Congress has eight MLAs in the 234 member House.

Thirunavukkarasar said the “unanimous” decision was taken after he chaired a meeting of party legislators, led by Legislature Party leader K. R. Ramasamy and senior functionaries at the party headquarters Satyamurthi Bhavan.

Yesterday, Thirunavukkarasar had said the party would decide its stand on voting based on the advice of the high command.

He had said the party State unit expected the feedback of the top leadership and that party chief Sonia Gandhi and vice-president Rahul Gandhi would be apprised of the views of the state leadership.

Published on February 18, 2017
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor