IIMB’s Centre for Public Policy to hold meet on ‘Inclusion and Exclusion: Policy and Practice’ in Delhi

Anil Urs Bengaluru | Updated on August 14, 2018 Published on August 14, 2018

The Centre for Public Policy (CPP) at the Indian Institute of Management Bangalore (IIMB) is to host the 13th International Conference on Public Policy and Management at the India Habitat Centre, New Delhi, from August 23-25.

The theme for this year’s conference is ‘Inclusion and Exclusion: Policy and Practice’. The international event will provide a platform for scholars, practitioners and experts from different disciplines to discuss diverse policy issues. The event, now in its 13th year, is an avenue for disseminating contemporary public policy research and emerging practices across a range of domains at a single conference.

This is the first time that IIMB is organising the conference outside Bengaluru. The three-day event will include keynote speeches, panel discussions and round-table conferences around socially and economically relevant topics, such as Consumer Citizenship and Social Inclusion, Diversity and Inclusion at Institutes of Higher Education, Scaling Livelihoods for Persons with Disability and Terms of Reference of the Fifteenth Finance Commission, among others.

The speakers would include Amita Baviskar, winner of the Infosys 2010 Prize for Social Sciences and Professor, Institute of Economic Growth; Ashwini Deshpande, Professor, Delhi School of Economics; Rajluxmi V Murthy, Professor, IIM Bangalore; Meenu Bhambhani, VP & Head, Corporate Social Responsibility, Mphasis; Arundhati Bhattacharya, Former Chairperson, State Bank of India; Shanti Raghavan, Founder, EnAble India; M Govinda Rao, Emeritus Professor, National Institute of Public Finance and Policy; Arghya Sengupta, Founder and Research Director, Vidhi Centre for Legal Policy; Balveer Arora, Professor, Jawaharlal Nehru University; and Pinaki Chakraborty, Professor, National Institute of Public Finance and Policy.

K P Krishnan, Secretary, Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship, will deliver the closing address on ‘Emerging Skill Development & Regulatory Ecosystem’.

Professor G. Raghuram, Director, IIMB, will deliver the welcome address and take part in some of the discussions. Other faculty members from IIMB who will participate in the panel discussions include Professors Hema Swaminathan (Chair, CPP), G Ramesh (CPP), Soham Sahoo (CPP), Anil B Suraj (CPP), Arnab Mukherji (CPP), Rajalaxmi Kamath (CPP), Rajluxmi V Murthy (Decision Sciences and Information Systems area and Chair, Committee on Inclusion), Gopal Naik (Economics & Social Sciences area and Dean, Faculty), Suresh Bhagavatula (Chair, NS Raghavan Centre for Entrepreneurial Learning), PC Narayan (former IIMB faculty member from the Finance & Accounting area), and N Ravi (Former Indian Foreign Service Officer and Adviser, CPP).

Published on August 14, 2018
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor