Maharashtra govt signs pact with AERB

PTI Mumbai | Updated on January 18, 2013


The Maharashtra Government today signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the Atomic Energy Regulatory Board (AERB) for setting up a directorate of Radiation Safety.

The MoU is a part of AERB’s steps to strengthen the regulatory control on medical diagnostic X-ray installations, Health Department officials said.

The MoU was signed by Additional Chief Secretary (Health Dept) T C Benjamin and AERB secretary R Bhattacharya.

The first Directorate of Radiation Safety was set up in Kerala in 1999 and the Radiation Safety Agency was set up in Mizoram in 2011.

MoUs have been signed with governments of Madhya Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Punjab, Chhattisgarh and Gujarat.

As per the MoU, the Directorate of Radiation Safety will test the X-ray machines. It will be mandatory for medical practitioners to register their X-Ray installations with the directorate.

“The directorate will see whether the machines have been properly installed, checking the ill-effects of radiation emanating from the machines and will keep a control on them,” the officials added.

Published on January 18, 2013

Follow us on Telegram, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and Linkedin. You can also download our Android App or IOS App.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor