How to share location using Google Maps

maps

maps1

Google has moved location sharing from Google Plus to Google Maps. The feature has started rolling out to all users now.

To share your location, click on the menu on the left. You will find a new ‘Share Location’ option.

Clicking on the location will prompt you to share your location for an hour, which is default. You can click the + and - signs to increase or reduce the time.

Each click on the - sign reduces the sharing time by 15 minutes and clicking on the + sign increases it by an hour.

There is also an option for sharing your location ‘Until you turn this off”.

Once you select it, you can use the ‘Select People’ option to (yes) select people with whom you want to share your location. You also have the option of sharing through messages or other apps, including email or Hangouts, Messenger or Whatsapp.

The good part is that you have the option select each person or link and stop sharing.

If are not seeing the ‘Share Location’ link, check whether you have updated the Google Maps app.

You can also use the ‘Trusted Contacts’ app (yes, it is Google’s) to share your location. But the drawbacks are that it is available only on Android and the other user must have the app installed.

Published on March 29, 2017
TOPICS

Related

MORE FROM BUSINESSLINE


 Getting recommendations just for you...
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor