Financial Daily from THE HINDU group of publications
Monday, Aug 05, 2002

Port Info

Group Sites

Logistics - Railways
Industry & Economy - Trade & Labour Unions

Creation of new zones — Rly unions, officers' body to file petition

Hema Ramakrishnan


LESS than a week after the Union Cabinet endorsed the move to bifurcate the Eastern Railway zone, two railway unions and the Federation of Railway Officers' Association have decided to file a public interest litigation (PIL) contesting the decision.

Two unions — the All India Railwaymen's Federation (AIRF) and the National Federation of Indian Railways (NFIR) — will file a PIL in the Delhi High Court jointly with the FROA challenging the Government's decision to create seven new zones. The list of petitioners will also include a few former Railway Board members, said official sources.

Some of the former Railway Board chiefs and members had earlier written a letter to the Prime Minister, Mr Atal Bihari Vajpayee, opposing the creation of seven new zones, saying that it would only add to the financial burden of the Railways.

According to a former member of the Railway Board, the move would go against the Railway Ministry's own initiative of cutting down flab. It would, instead, entail fresh recruitments and add to staff costs.

The Railway Minister, Mr Nitish Kumar, had, on June 14 this year, announced the creation of two new railway zones — East-Central Railways based at Hajipur (Bihar) and North-Western Railways in Jaipur (Rajasthan). These zones have been carved out of the Eastern Railways headquartered at Kolkata and the Western Railways headquartered at Mumbai respectively and will become operational from October 1.

The decision to bifurcate the Eastern Railway zone met with stiff opposition from West Bengal, considering that it involved the hiving off of two money-spinning divisions — Dhanbad and Mughalsarai — to the new East-Central Railways.

Ignoring protests from West Bengal, Mr Nitish Kumar went ahead to notify the formation of five additional zones and eight new divisions. The five new zones, in addition to the current 15 (including the two newly created zones), will become operational by April 1, 2003.

The Railway Minister's contention was that the Government was only implementing the decision taken in 1996 by the then United Front Government. He held that the creation of new zones would improve operational efficiency of the Railways. The Union Cabinet, which discussed the issue, adhered to the 1996 decision on grounds of merit.

Send this article to Friends by E-Mail

Stories in this Section
SBM means huge savings for KRL — But why is CoPT playing spoilsport?

Dredging contracts — Over-reliance on foreign firms
S. Korean shipbuilders' pricing face-off with EU peers
`No outside agency allowed to inspect ports for security steps'
Kochi port refutes charges
Logistics conclave from August 8
Railways: The folly of Hajipurisation
Creation of new zones — Rly unions, officers' body to file petition
Railways 150th anniversary
LCVs/ICVs outrace heavyweights
N-E truck movement hit by bad roads

The Hindu Group: Home | About Us | Copyright | Archives | Contacts | Subscription
Group Sites: The Hindu | Business Line | The Sportstar | Frontline | Home |

Copyright 2002, The Hindu Business Line. Republication or redissemination of the contents of this screen are expressly prohibited without the written consent of The Hindu Business Line