Financial Daily from THE HINDU group of publications
Tuesday, Mar 25, 2003

Port Info

Group Sites

Industry & Economy - Economy

We Think for India proposes intelligentsia-industry link

Our Bureau

Dr R.A. Mashelkar, Director-General, CSIR, with Mr L.V. Saptharishi, Additional Secretary, Commerce Ministry, addressing a press conference in the Capital on Monday.

NEW DELHI, March 24

THE winners for the National Manufacturing Sector Policy Competition 2003, sponsored by We Think for India, a voluntary organisation of eminent persons to create a national platform for interchange of beneficial ideas, was announced on Monday.

Addressing a news conference here, the WTI Executive Council member, Dr R.A. Mashelkar, Director-General of the Council for Scientific and Industrial Research , said the country's manufacturing sector was struggling to redefine its role in the new post-WTO context. Hence, the WTI felt that having a manufacturing policy competition would be a springboard for creating a vibrant national platform.

By announcing a national manufacturing policy competition, the WTI hoped to address the critical issues facing `Indian manufacturing' and to create "a structured dialogue platform between intelligentsia and industry segments".

He said the response to the competition was overwhelming as 166 teams from across the country's best institutions and corporates took part. A screening committee under the chairmanship of Mr A.P. Gandhi, former President, Hyundai, India, short-listed nine policy drafts which were adverted to a high-powered jury consisting of, among others, Mr Rabat Kumar, Chairman of the jury and former Cabinet Secretary, Government of India, Dr P. Ghosh, Additional Secretary (Prime Minister's Office), Prof P.V. Indiresan, former Director, IIT, Chennai, Mr Arvind Virmani, Director, ICRIER, Mr K.J. Udeshi, Executive Director, RBI, and Mr N. Krishna Kumar, CEO, Tata Tea Ltd & Taj Hotels.

Dr Mashelkar announced that out of the nine short-listed entries, the high-powered jurors selected three teams, which have been adjudged to be the winners for the National Manufacturing Sector Policy Competition 2003. They include Mr Sanjay Upendram and Team, Andersen Business Consulting now a part of KPMG, Dr (Mrs) M Thenmozhi and Team, IIT, Chennai, and Mr A. Chaudhuri and Team, IIM, Lucknow.

Mr L.V. Saptharishi, Member, Executive Council, Additional Secretary, Ministry of Commerce and Industry, said the idea behind encouraging competition on subjects of consequences for the country was to unleash thinking and idea impulses on a wider canvas, so that different segments could convert them into practical propositions.

EMPI (Entrepreneurship & Management Processes International) Business School, New Delhi, said the top three teams would get a cash award of Rs 1 lakh and a citation while the remaining six teams would be given a prize comprising a cash award and a certificate, next month. The selected themes would be put on Web site and also be discussed at a national seminar.

Article E-Mail :: Comment :: Syndication

Stories in this Section
Dumping duty imposed on PSF from four countries

Dumping probe on metallurgical coke
Little cheer for tea industry in TN Budget
TN Budget `Chennai centric' — Infrastructure needs of Coimbatore ignored: ICCI
We Think for India proposes intelligentsia-industry link
World Forestry Day observed
BoB plans to invest Rs 100 cr in development fund
NPCIL offers `lifeline' to two State PSUs
Banks refuse refinance support to State PSUs
Bengal PSUs report over Rs 2,000-cr loss
Petro prices could fall: Naik
Life sciences alliance formed — 3 pharma cos tie up with US firm
AP electricity panel cuts industrial tariffs
Exxon in talks for LNG supply to Dabhol
In the red, sugar industry seeks tax concessions
Lift VAT waiver limit to Rs 50 lakh: Traders
Kerala Minister's assurance on VAT
Kerala SSIs want curbs on movement of timber to stay
`Karnataka Budget has neglected SSIs'
Bottled water units get edgy on new norms
Small players may drown in water controversy
State PSUs can take up coal mining outside
IT@School to feature Kalpana Chawla
Quest for knowledge!
KIOCL schools at Mangalore
CII team to visit Lanka
Govt allots land for CCMB biosafety lab
Biotech - an emerging field
VAT may push up ceramic tile rates
Divestment of oil PSUs gets SC nod
Empowering women through social mobilisation— AP villages reap benefits from UN project
Manufacturing does better by its employees
Prudential Bank staff stage dharna to recover NPAs
Apeda signs MoU for mango export zone

The Hindu Group: Home | About Us | Copyright | Archives | Contacts | Subscription
Group Sites: The Hindu | Business Line | The Sportstar | Frontline | The Hindu eBooks | Home |

Copyright 2003, The Hindu Business Line. Republication or redissemination of the contents of this screen are expressly prohibited without the written consent of The Hindu Business Line